Jam and bread

P1050175

I was going to call this post “Life changing loaf” because that is what this bread is actually called, and it actually is life-changing!  Instead, though I’m calling it “Jam and bread” because I couldn’t help myself, I am a huge fan of The Sound of Music!!  Who else?  There’s no jam recipe, just the bread and you don’t have to top this life-changing bread with just jam, I’ve done nut butters, honey, coconut oil, pesto and I’ve had it warmed up and enjoyed it on its own.

P1050170

I love nutty and seeded breads like the kind they serve all over Europe.  Dense breads make me so happy and I don’t feel guilty eating this kind of bread because I know it is not processed.  You can see this bread is loaded with good-for-you ingredients like hazelnuts and whole flax seed.  What you can’t see is the psyllium husks powder, an ingredient of which I’ve recently become so fond!  Most of us don’t get enough fiber and psyllium husks is a great way to get more in your diet.  I also add it to my smoothies!

P1050172

Enjoy every nutty and flavorful bite without the guilt!  Also, you can make this bread in one loaf pan, which makes it easy to make and easy to clean-up.  Perfect!

Recipe from My New Roots:

1 cup sunflower seeds
½ cup flax seeds
½ cup hazelnuts (you could also use almonds)
1 ½ cups rolled oats (I used gluten free)
2 Tbsp. chia seeds
3 Tbsp. psyllium husk powder (I used this one)
1 tsp. – 1 1/2 tsp. fine grain sea salt
1 1/2 Tbsp. maple syrup (for sugar-free diets, use a pinch of stevia)
3 Tbsp. melted coconut oil or ghee
1 ½ cups / 350ml water

Directions:
1. Combine all dry ingredients in a metal or silicon bread pan.  If using a metal pan, swipe the bottom and sides with coconut oil.  Whisk maple syrup, oil and water together in a measuring cup. Add the liquid to the dry ingredients and mix until everything is completely soaked and dough becomes very thick.  You may need to add more water to get a dough-like consistency.  Smooth out the top with the back of a spoon. Let sit out on the counter, covered with a towel for at least 2 hours, or all day or overnight. The dough is ready when it retains its shape when you pull the sides of the loaf pan away from it it.

2. Preheat oven to 350°F.

3. Place loaf pan in the oven on the middle rack, and bake for 20 minutes. Remove bread from loaf pan, place it upside down directly on a cooling rack and put into the oven for another 30-40 minutes. Bread is done when it sounds hollow when tapped. Let cool completely before slicing.

4. Store bread in a tightly sealed container for up to five days.  You also can refrigerate this bread or freeze it, then warm it up in the toaster, oven or microwave.

Leave a Reply

