Mexican Lasagna

P1040972

I was recently in Tulsa, OK to see one of my beautiful sorority sisters get married.  The wedding was gorgeous and the weekend was a blast, partly because I stumbled upon the greatest cafe ever!  It was a spot I did not expect to find in Tulsa.  I love when the world surprises me!  The cafe is called Nourish and it was opened in January by two sisters who seem to have a passion for bringing healthful food and drinks the their beautiful Midwestern city.  I bought my new favorite t-shirt there (see below) and later explored Nourish’s website where I found this yummy-sounding recipe for Mexican lasagna.  After making it, I know it is not just yummy-sounding but yummy-tasting, too!

Screen shot 2014-09-29 at 8.26.43 PM

Because the recipe called for some cheese and I do not tolerate dairy all that well, I decided to modify the recipe a bit but it’s still absolutely delicious!  By all means, if you can tolerate dairy, throw cheese into this dish wherever your heart desires.  I did use a bit of lactose-free sour cream as a topping when I enjoyed this dish as leftovers a few days after I made it.  I must say, the smooth coolness of the sour cream was a nice compliment to the hot and spicy lasagna.

P1040964

As you can see, this dish has tons of flavor: smoky sweet potatoes, rustic corn tortillas, tomatillo salsa and lots of fresh cilantro.  It’s a healthful, yet hearty dish that’s perfect for fall.  It’s also a good dinner to serve for a party because the recipe makes enough for at least five people (I’m talking large portions, people!) and if you serve a simple green salad, some margaritas and chips and guac, I think you have the makings for a successful evening.  Enjoy!

P1040975

Mexican Lasagna Recipe inspired by Nourish Drink Cafe

  • 2 cups salsa verde (I used this brand)
  • 2 sweet potatoes, washed and diced
  • 2 boxes/cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (4.5 ounce can) green chiles
  • 1/2 cup diced red onion
  • 3 tablespoons fresh chopped cilantro, plus more for topping
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder (or more if you like an extra kick like I do!)
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 7-12 corn tortillas (I did not top mine so I only used 7 but if you add another layer to the top, you’ll need more.)
  • avocado, guacamole, sour cream, cheese, salsa and cilantro for topping
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Pour one cup of salsa verde into the bottom of a 9×13 glass baking dish and set aside.
  3. Boil or steam your sweet potatoes until they are soft.
  4. In a large bowl, combine sweet potatoes, fresh minced garlic, black beans, green chiles, red onion and cilantro.
  5. In a small bowl, combine all the spices.
  6. Pour spices over the sweet potato mixture and mix well.
  7. Assemble!
    1. Lay tortillas on the bottom of the baking dish.  You can let the tortillas overlap, or you can trim them to fit evenly.
    2. Put half of the sweet potato mixture evenly on top of the tortillas.  (if you’re using cheese, add some here)
    3. Layer more tortillas on top of the sweet potato mixture.
    4. You can add one more layer of tortillas here, but I opted not to do that.  If you’re using cheese, add more on top here.  Otherwise, pour the remaining salsa on top.
  8. Bake until bubbly, about 20 to 25 minutes.
  9. Serve with any toppings of your choosing but I recommend not skimping on the avocado and/or guacamole!
Leave a Reply

