Carrots love raisins

P1040927

I think I was in eighth grade when I had my first carrot-raisin salad.  My mom made it one night when I had a friend over for dinner.  This friend was a “picky eater.”  For some reason, a carrot-raisin salad just sounds unappealing to an eighth grader.  Even now, I don’t know if it would be what I order on a menu, but I can tell you, I crave this easy and delicious salad that is filling and full of healing nutrients like beta-carotene!  And, as my mom said years ago, “Do you like carrots?  Do you like raisins?  Well, they’re mixed together!”  This salad is almost that easy.

P1040926

What you see is what you get with this dish: shredded carrots (thank you, food processor!), raisins, and walnuts.  The salad has the most delicious and simple dressing: lemon juice and maple syrup.  The salad lasts for days and actually gets better the next day when the lemon and maple juices absorb more fully into the carrots.  If you don’t have walnuts or don’t like them, you could easily substitute pumpkin or sunflower seeds or pecans.

Recipe from Sondi Bruner:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • ½ cup raisins, finely chopped
  • ¼ cup walnuts, chopped
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (I did closer to 1.5)
  • 2 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (This recipe also works well with orange or grapefruit juice.  If using grapefruit, boost the maple syrup to detract from the bitterness.)
Instructions
  1. Wash and peel carrots then continue shredding or use a food processor until you have about 2 cups.
  2. Add raisins and walnuts to the bowl with the carrots.
  3. Drizzle the salad with maple syrup and lemon juice, then mix well.
  4. Taste and adjust the dressing if necessary.
Leave a Reply

