Carrot Banana Granola Balls

I am a snacker.  I like to “graze” throughout the day, filling my belly with tasty, sweet things that also are healthy-ish.  Food gives us fuel, sure, but truthfully, I just like eating.  I like tasting something that removes me from the moment, and (hopefully) enhances it!

P1040260

The base of these yummy granola balls are carrots and bananas.  Hello, health!  Both give a great texture to the mix that almost gives these treats a cake-like consistency.

P1040265

Oats hold everything together and give these granola balls their name, and sustenance that I like to get from my snacks, don’t you?  These oats are gluten free, but you can use any kind you like.  Just make sure they’re not the quick-cook kind.

P1040262

When you’re mixing your wet ingredients together, you can’t judge how it looks.  I am aware this resembles baby food, but I promise, once everything comes together you will be quite pleased!

P1040269

These granola balls are complex, yet simple with flavors like maple syrup and cinnamon.  Applesauce also gives them a subtle sweetness.

P1040271

They roll together easily and they won’t expand while baking so you can place them close together on your baking sheet.

P1040282

The best part is when they’re done!  You can see pretty much exactly what’s in them: carrots, bananas, raisins, shredded coconut and oats.

P1040276After you take a bite, you’ll understand why one isn’t enough, but it’s OK because these are good-for-you treats that have been taste-test approved by my hair stylist, my boss, a good friend, and me!  Enjoy!

Recipe from Daily Bites Blog:

  • 2 medium-large carrots, grated
  • 2 small bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened organic applesauce (apples are on the “Dirty Dozen” list so buy organic, when possible)
  • 2 Tablespoons ground flaxseed
  • 2 Tablespoons unsweetened nut butter (I used almond, but any will do)
  • 2-3 Tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1-1/2 cups rolled oats (I used gluten free)
  • 1/2 unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup raisins, dried currants (or any dried fruit)
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon (heaping if you’d like, I love LOTS of cinnamon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the carrots, mashed banana, applesauce, ground flaxseed, nut butter, and maple syrup. Stir in the oats, coconut, raisins, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Stir to combine thoroughly.
  3. Use your hands to form balls with the dough. They should be about 1-1/2 inches in diameter. Place them on the baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes, or until deeply golden brown and just firm to the touch. Let cool and store in an airtight container. I keep some refrigerated and freeze some for longer storage.
Leave a Reply

