Sweet potatoes with caramelized onions, spinach and raisins

 

One of my favorite things to do is to just throw things together. I definitely do that with my wardrobe, and I love doing it with cooking. Recipes are important, but sometimes the most delicious things you’ll eat are things you’ve created on the fly, using whatever you have handy.

 

I had an onion and a white sweet potato that needed to be used. Caramelized onions are absolutely my favorite and sweet potatoes, both orange and white, are always in my kitchen.

 

I use a brush to wash my potatoes well. Keep the skin on, and start by chopping the potato in half through the center, then lengthwise until you have fat matchsticks.

 

Caramelize the onions fully, then add the sweet potatoes and a bit more olive oil. I had a fresh sprig of rosemary, so I added it into my saucepan for added flavor. Rosemary goes great with sweet potatoes!

P1030833

 

I love adding color to my dishes, and spinach is the perfect addition here because it wilts quickly and has a subtle sweet flavor. I also tossed in a handful of raisins.

 

This makes a great side dish for dinner, or a light lunch!

 

Recipe: 

  • half of a yellow onion, sliced
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 packets Stevia, or other sugar *optional
  • 1 sweet potato, white or orange will work, sliced into thick-ish matchsticks
  • freshly ground salt and black pepper
  • 2-3 cups washed spinach
  • Handful of raisins
  1. Heat a medium-large saucepan over medium-low heat
  2. Add 2 tablespoons olive oil
  3. Slice onion and add to saucepan. Add a little bit of salt to allow the onions to “sweat”
  4. Add two packets Stevia, or other sugar. This will help the onions caramelize.
  5. Wash and slice potato into thick matchsticks.
  6. Once onions have caramelized, add the potatoes and another tablespoon of olive oil. Mix everything together, then cover saucepan to allow potatoes to steam and saute. Let this sit for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  7. Once potatoes are soft, add raisins and spinach. Once the spinach has just wilted, remove from heat and cover the saucepan again for 5 minutes or so.
Leave a Reply

