Miso-Marinated Flank Steak

For three years of my life, I was a “pescetarian,” a vegetarian who also ate fish and seafood. I realized during those years that eating that way wasn’t difficult, but the foodie in me didn’t like the restrictions. I’m glad I embarked on the culinary venture, but once and a while nothing sounds better than a little red meat!

I’ve been reading recipes from Bon Appetit’s “Food Lover’s Cleanse” and saw this one for Miso-Marinated Flank Steak. The recipe was the inspiration for my steak and Gordon Ramsay’s “How to Cook a Steak in a Pan” served as my guide for a cooking technique.

It turned out perfectly! I ate my steak sliced over a spinach salad. I plan to use the leftovers tomorrow night for steak tacos!

Recipe, adapted from Bon Appetit

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup white miso
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon grated peeled ginger
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tablespoons canola or grapeseed oil (and more for cooking pan)
  • grass-fed beef flank steak (I bought about a pounds worth)
  • Freshly ground sea salt and black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • Dry white wine (enough to fill bottom of saucepan, I used 1/2 cup)

Method:

  • Mix miso, mustard, ginger, garlic and oil in small bowl
  • Grind salt and pepper atop your meat and let sit
  • Spread miso mixture on both sides of the meat, and wrap in plastic wrap or bag
  • Refrigerate at least 30 minutes and up to overnight
  • Remove meat and allow it to sit out before cooking, scraping the miso mixture from the meat.
  • Heat a thick saucepan. Once hot, add oil and swirl to coat pan
  • Brown each side for 3 minutes
  • When you flip over, add the tablespoon of buter and wine. It will smoke and sizzle. Cover.
  • As Gordon Ramsay suggests, you can press down on the meat to see if it’s rare, medium, or well-done. It all depends on your preference. I like mine a little on the rare side.
  • Remove from pan and pour remaining liquid from pan on top of steak. Let cool before slicing and serving!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

