Homemade Creamy Nut Butter

I recently splurged, big time. I bought for myself a Vitamix Professional Series 300 blender. It’s a luxury, definitely. But after just a few weeks with it on my kitchen counter, I now cannot imagine my life without it. Every morning, I drink some variation of a green smoothie, made in my lovely Vitamix. I used to add into that smoothie some store-bought almond butter. Not anymore! Now, I add my own, homemade nut butter into my smoothies each morning. Later, I spread it on celery, on toast, or sneak over to my fridge with a spoon. Amazing!

When you buy a Vitamix, you get a big recipe book but most recipes are available online, too. I modeled mine after this recipe but the nuts I used are unsalted and not roasted. As you can see, I used a variety of nuts and ended up with a nutty, sweet blend.

I’ve also made pesto, homemade applesauce and salad dressings that knock my socks off! Who else is in love with a blender?

4 thoughts on “Homemade Creamy Nut Butter

  1. Any recommendations for a less expensive blender that can still finely blend nuts? I think my blender is from the 1970’s…

    • I also like Magic Bullet (about $50) and Hamilton Beach has a few good ones at Target, which are much less. The Vitamix is definetly a luxury. You can also use a food processor to make nut butter.

Leave a Reply

