The Best Granola

Granola is something I could eat all day, every day. I like it most as a late-night snack with cold coconut milk. I grew up eating my mom’s homemade granola, but I have my own take now. I never really write down the recipe because it changes each time I make it. However, there are a few tricks I’ve learned that make each batch absolutely delish!

First, don’t over think it. It’s granola! You really can’t go wrong, as long as you’re adding ingredients you love and watching the temperature and time it spends in the oven.

I always start with a big bowl for my oats. I use organic, old fashioned ones. In a glass pyrex measuring cup, I had honey and oil. Coconut oil is my favorite, but if I don’t have it, I use canola. Sometimes I’ll add in cinnamon or vanilla. Mix all the “wet” ingredients, plus a little water, and microwave for about 45 seconds.

Get out your nuts and chop them coarsely. My favorite combo as of late is pecans, macadamia nuts and sunflower seeds. Throw them into the oat bowl.

Mix together your wet ingredients and add them to the oats, stirring slowly and simultaneously until the oats are coated. Don’t overcoat! You can save the mixture for another time if you added too much. Or, add more oats.

On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, smooth the raw granola so it’s even. Put it into a 255 degree oven. After 10-12 minutes, open the oven and stir the oats around so the granola cooks evenly. Repeat this until the granola is getting light golden, approximately 35 minutes. Then bump up the heat to 300 for a few minutes for added crunch. The more time you leave it in, the crunchier the granola.

Once the granola is out of the oven, toss in the raisins, or any sort of dried fruit, and ground flaxseed. Let cool, or eat the first bowl warm!

Food & Wine recently wrote about granola and included a link to more recipes. Make it your own!

One thought on “The Best Granola

Leave a Reply

